And Some Good Old Fashioned Whining!

I got busy this weekend and didn’t get a chance to finish my longbowmen until Monday night.  I’m working on basing them now. As you can see they are two figures to a 25 mm X 50 mm base.  These are really half stands that will serve as longbowmen in open order.  They are a feature of the new rules for the Hundred Years War I’m working on. Not quite done, but I’ll have them ready to look at by this weekend.

Longbowmen are nearly finished.  Just basing to do.  I've applied the Liquitex Modeling Paste and have begun painting with Burnt Umber.

Longbowmen are nearly finished. Just basing to do. I’ve applied the Liquitex Modeling Paste and have begun painting with Burnt Umber.

For those who don’t know my basing supplies, I use Liquitex Modeling Paste.  It comes in a jar that lasts me about a year.  $12.99 at Jo-Anns, less with a coupon.  It comes in a larger size, but I’ve found, much to my chagrin, that it tends to dry out and a lot of the material is wasted.  I’d stick with small even though the larger one is a better value. It comes in white, and is an acrylic substance that dries quickly.  You can usually paint over it within an hour.  I usually just paint it with Burnt Umber, i.e. really dark brown, and dry brush over it with Ceramcoat Trail Tan, and then apply whatever flocking I want to use.

One thing I’ve learned, to my sorrow, is that my pair of Dick Blick Kolinsky Sable 0 brushes are about to kick the bucket.  I’ve had the same ones for a couple of years, but alas, it’s time to look for some new ones.  I’ve lamented the cost of these brushes before.  They were about $3.99 when I first started buying them about eight years ago and they are now about ten bucks each.  If that wasn’t bad enough, Kolinsky sable is now considered a protected species by U.S. Wildlife, so the brushes are now spendy AND hard to get.  Grrrr. I worry enough about global climate change, do I have to stress over my brushes too?

I’m going to try a substitute.  I’ve ordered some Escoda Versatil brushes from the big Blick.  The art supply giant touts these as the synthetic alternative to Kolinsky Sable.  They are about a dollar cheaper, so not cheap and of course you have to chip in some cash to mail the little buggers. I’m hoping for the best but I don’t like synthetic brushes.  They tend not to hold their point long and bend, but I’m willing to give them a try–or start farming Kolinsky sable.  I have a big backyard, though I’m not sure the Aussies would like them.  Rusty would be good at herding them I’m sure.

Bay Area Yards U.S.S. Miami.  The Miami was a double end gunboat, one of several classes built during the American Civil War.

Bay Area Yards U.S.S. Miami. The Miami was a double end gunboat, one of several classes built during the American Civil War.

The other piece on my table is the U.S.S. Miami by Bay Area Yards. I like the shape and size of the resin hull.  I also ordered the mast kit for the model from Bay, but I’m pretty sure I cut the masts too short and the model looks goofy.  Overall the miniature looks good, even though the stack seems a bit extreme in its raked angle.  I used Bay guns too, which are very nicely sized.  Not quite as detailed as Thoroughbred guns, but those are a bit out of scale.

I learned at Enfilade that Bay Area Yards was sold to Old Glory.  I haven’t heard anything about this from OG, and the Bay site, though it has many items unavailable, makes no such announcement.  I do hope these miniatures remain available.  I’ve had a lot of fun building them and hope to get more. Quite a bit of work left to do on the Miami, but will update photos as I go.

And For Your Listening Pleasure: Radiohead The Bends

The BendsAbout twenty years ago I listened to music with my 15 year old son.  We did the grunge thing together.  Pearl Jam, Mudhoney, Soundgarden, Nirvana.  It was all quite familiar.  But after Kurt Cobain died and the Grunge movement began to peter out, Pat began listening to other bands, including Radiohead.  I had little experience with them, except for watching them live on an MTV Music Award show.  I didn’t like them.  They seemed weird for the sake of weirdness, and that’s always a no go for me. Over the years I’ve sampled a bit of their work, but really haven’t listened for real.  When I was in Astoria I went to Rock and Bach, the local record store.  They mostly specialized in new pressings.  I bought a copy of The Bends by Radiohead and tonight I finally broke it out of its cellophane and listened.

It’s a great record.  If you like classic guitar rock you’ll definitely find something to like.  It’s musically strong without being loud or overwhelming. Very melodic, I really liked it at first listen.  But it’s just as clear this isn’t a happy record.  Thom Yorke’s lyrics, which  I usually pick up last, are definitely a downer.  Even so, it’s a record I’ll listen to often. Very good stuff.

3 comments on “And Some Good Old Fashioned Whining!

  1. Greg says:

    I am curious about your new rules – can’t wait to see more.

    Also, would you have a recommendation for a single volume history on the HYW? The period is interesting, but I am not sure if I want to splash out the cash for Sumption’s works just yet…

    • kgsmyth55 says:

      Greg, I’d recommend something newer, just because the scholarship is more up to date. If you can’t do Sumption, then try the single volume histories by Robin Neillands or Christopher Allmand. You could even try the Osprey Essential History by Anne Curry. They are all pretty well-regarded.

Leave a Reply

