Painting is good

It’s July 5th. I made no posts in June. Zero, nada, zilch, nothing. Not any games played either.  Let’s just say, that June was not a good month for posting or gaming and get on with our lives.

But that doesn’t mean it was completely inconsequential.  June was a pretty good month for painting figures.

Spanish Swordsmen

After Enfilade I came home and began working on Spanish Swordsmen for my Quetzacoatl Rampant project.  The figures are all from Eureka Miniatures and combine the more heavily armored figures with the lighter armored variety that became de rigeur as the conquest progressed. These were great figures to paint.  Relatively easy, nicely formed minis. I used the dip on these figures, and I feel they turned out well.  The dip did a very nice job in accentuating the joints in the armor, and the decoration on the steel shields.

This period will continue to receive a lot of attention throughout the summer.  I expect I’ll try my first unit of Aztecs next in the project. I own all the Spanish I need.  These figures represent four 6-figure units, and raises my completed Spanish units to six.

Black and Tans

I’m also bound and determined to finish or nearly finish my Irish Rellion/Civil War project this summer.  I have a pretty simple set of rules called, “Like Cricket, But With Guns.” I forget where I found these, but they sure seem simple.  I just need to get my figures finished to try out a game.

I finished painting 14 of the Royal Irish Constabulary Auxiliary or the “Black and Tans.”  Frequently these were British WWI veterans, who wore as much of the RIC’s dark green kit as they could get, but frequently wore part or all of the standard issue uniform. The figures are the very nice minis by Musketeer/Footsore miniatures.

I don’t have a lot left to paint for this period.  I have a couple dozen Renegade early war Brits in SD caps that will mostly serve as Irish Free State army for the Civil War.  I also ordered a pack each of RIC officers and IRA militia types from Reiver Castings to add just a few more figures for each side. They seem a little small and not quite up to the standard of my Footsore and Cannon Fodder miniatures, but they are something different.  We’ll see how they paint up.  If they paint up well, I may buy s couple packs of the dark uniformed Auxies that traveled in the Company B. Crosley tenders I have to build and paint.

The Luisiana Dragoons

I’ve had these figures for a while, and it’s nice to have them completed. These go with my United States vs. Spain project.  I’ve had them for some time, and am just trying to wrap them up.  I loved the color scheme–something about the blue and red that I like. These are from the old RSM range offered by Dayton Painting Consortium.  Decent figures, but certainly not front line today.  This is a project that still has a few loose ends I’d like to work at and finish up.

Next Up

The Red Captains, or those of us who are connected to the Space 1889/Martian/The Sword and the Flame on Mars have committed to a summer game that is essentially a sea battle on one of the Martian canals. I’ve agreed to supply my medieval vessels as Martian warships–I have three Merrimac Shipyards cogs and a galley.  For the Brits I have the Reviresco paper steam gunboat, which is a cheap and handy little model, even if it shows my clear lack of expertise assembling paper models. But I also have the nice resin Nile River gunboat by Merrimac.  I’ve been waiting to do something with it for probably a decade, so I think the time to work on it is now.

I expect I’ll spend most of the rest of the summer painting the rest of my Irish stuff, as well as Aztecs and Conquistadors.  I have a timetable for playing Quetzacoatl Rampant that requires my stuff to be fairly complete by January, so I do have a bit of time pressure there. But I am happy to paint on whatever my heart desires right now.

Music to Paint By:

Free Fire and Water

Free was a very young band when they formed in 1968.  All of their members-vocalist Paul Rodgers, guiarist Paul Kossoff, drummer Simon Kirke and bassist Andy Fraser-were still in their teens when the band formed and recorded their first two albums.  Their breakout record was 1970’s  Fire and Water, that included the hit “All Right Now.” It’s a very good record that showed the band’s potential.  Free was a blues-based outfit, with a solid no-nonsense musical core.  It rocked harder than Cream, but certainly flowed from similar musical influences. Not always an easy get.  It can be hard to find, but usually affordable.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

