It may not be Boeing . . .

DSCN1413

Bettys and Spitfires waiting for their markings.

One more look at the planes under construction in the Smyth production line. In the back are the Spitfires and Bettys.  They are finished now except for decals. More about this later.

DSCN1411

The Smyth production line with Whirlwinds in front and Beauforts in the second row.  Still a bit to go on those ten planes.

Those in front are the Beauforts and Whirlwinds. The Bristol Beaufort was designed with a view of becoming the standard torpedo bomber for RAF Coastal Command. Unfortunately, it’s performance wasn’t quite up to snuff, and it was replaced by the more robust and pugnacious Beaufighter. However, the Aussies really did like the Beaufort, and it was produced under license to become the standard torpedo bomber for the RNAF.

The Whirlwind just looks so cool.  A bit like an under-nourished Mosquito, but not as successful.  Only a handful of these were produced, but were on hand for the Channel Dash.

All the British planes are dressed in the late 1941 gray and green camo.  The Beauforts and Whirlwinds are beginning to get their black-lined detailing. A bit more left to do.

I order my water-slide decals from I-94 Enterprises, Dave Winfree’s fine company out of Illinois.  Unfortunately I had a pile of RAF decals, but I was wrong, so I had to hurry off an order today. I might be stuck for a few days while I wait.

I’ve had a ton of success ordering from I-94.  Dave also includes some nice directions on his site for applying decals. This time I’m going to follow them closely.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

The paper is on deadline the rest of the week so I’ll be busy at least until the weekend–no work or posts likely until then.

Music to paint by

The first time I ever heard of the Small Faces was in a teen magazine when I was a kid.  I don’t think they made a great translation to the United States from the U.K.  The song you’re most likely to be familiar with is “Itchycoo Park” which was just a little controversial with its references to drug use. Such was the world of 1967.

Ogden's Nut Gone Flake

But in 1968, the Small Faces released Ogden’s Nut Gone Flake. It’s great record.  A combination of hard rock and psychedelia that goes well with the music coming out of Britain in 1968.  Side A is pretty standard rock fare, but Side B is the interesting story of “Happiness Stan,” a tale told in the third person by guest narrator Stanley Unwin.  The second side also has “Rollin’ Thunder” a great rock and roll song.

Ogden’s is not an easy get.  A first pressing in its unique round cover is worth some serious cash.  Mine is a 1973 repressing, and not in perfect condition.  I consider myself fortunate to find it for twenty ish bucks. But if you’re serious about “getting” the music coming out of England with Wheels of Fire by Cream, Beggars Banquet by the Stones or Then Play On by Fleetwood Mac, you shouldn’t overlook this one.

Leave a Reply

