Perry figures Volunteers of Ireland Review

Are my brushes too big?  Are the figures too small?  Are my 60 year old eyes too bad?  Dunno, but I found the Perry Volunteers challenging and hard to paint. Flags by GMB

Are my brushes too big? Are the figures too small? Are my 60 year old eyes too bad? Dunno, but I found the Perry Volunteers challenging and hard to paint. Flags by GMB

I’ve painted hundreds of Perry figures.  I would say that over the very long time I’ve been painting little men, Perry and Front Rank figures are my favorites to apply paint to. I’ve painted miniatures from the Agincourt to Orleans range, many American Revolution figures, even the Death of Gordon vignette.  Last night I finished painting the Volunteers of Ireland figures from the AWI range, and they are my least favorite Perry figures.

Look, don’t get me wrong, they are nice figures.  They are well proportioned–not super beefy.  They capture the uniqueness of the loyalist unit, with their funky leather caps, and Brandenburg lace.  But these guys just seem small.  Everything about them, from their faces to their cartridge boxes felt little and hard to get to, and therefore more difficult to paint.  One other criticism is that that detail on these figures, unlike other Perrys that I’ve painted, just didn’t seem to pop.  I’ve never felt the detail on their miniatures were exaggerated, but on these, I felt I really had to go looking.  An example of that would be the belting across the front of the figures-the blanket roll, the haversack, the canteen straps, were simply difficult to distinguish–so I did the best I could.

In the end the figures will be fine-just don’t look too closely at ’em.  But I’m glad to be done with them. The figures do fill an important niche-the Volunteers of Ireland were an important loyalist regiment that fought at a number of important actions. Now I just need to play a few games with them.

What’s next on my painting table.

Planner that I am, I’ve put together a work plan for the rest of the year.  At this very moment, I have Miss Bardahl and the Squire Shop hydroplanes that desperately need to be finished. I also hauled out my Bay Area Yards CSS Selma that I hope to assemble this weekend.  All are needed for my Enfilade games, so it’s important to make progress with them.  Looking ahead, here’s what my list of do’s for November and December:

  1. 16 dismounted men-at-arms for the HYW (French)
  2. 1974 Notre Dame and 1981 Atlas Van Lines for Thunderboats
  3. 12 Lee’s Legion figures
  4. Fort Jackson by Bay Area Yards for Ironclads game
  5. 16 dismounted men-at-arms for HYW (French)

That should keep me off the streets.  Nothing to buy, I have them all.  In addition, during this time I also hope to begin buying the airplanes I’ll need for the Channel Dash.  They’ll have to come from different sources including from Great Britain, so I definitely can’t wait until the last minute.

And now for your listening pleasure

To be truthful, I’ve been pretty distracted from music by television.  I’ve been watching the excellent World Series, and have even squeezed in a binge watch of the first season of The Flash on Netflix.

But there’s always time to toss some vinyl on the Rega and I’ve listened to some great records.  I have a lot of mini collections in my vinyl stash.  For these I’m not a completist and don’t try to have everything, and one of them is Blue Oyster Cult, the proto-metal band out of New York. If you don’t remember their name, maybe you remember their best known song “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper,” a staple of classic rock radio for decades.

Blue Oyster CultTheir 1972 debut, Blue Oyster Cult, is a record worth listening to.  It is the prototype for what the band will become.  Surrounding themselves in an aura of dark, sinister threat, they put together some amazing rock.  BOC featured the twin lead guitars of Eric Bloom and Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser, and the writing of Sandy Pearlman and Richard Meltzer.  Between the interesting and kind of scary writing and the intense, powerful, but ultimately extremely accessible musicianship, this is a very good intro to the band’s catalog.  The band opens with the sinister “Transmaniacon,” and follows with a host of great songs, including “Cities on Flame With Rock and Roll,” and the strangely wonderful “Workshop of the Telescopes.”

Blue Oyster Cult is heavy and hard, but it’s not difficult to listen to.  It’s melodic, it’s interesting.  Later records will include songs co-authored with Patti Smith and Michael Moorcock.  All of their albums between 1972-81 are a pretty good listen.  They stand on their own as pretty unique.  And there are lots of well known singles. “Godzilla,” “I Love the Night,” and “Burnin’ For You” are all songs that got airplay, so you may have heard BOC and just never recognized them.  It’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

