Good-bye 2014, hello 2015

I can’t believe it’s been nearly two months since my last post. But it’s been a pretty busy two months. After a pretty eventful November when I squeezed in four or more Lion Rampant games, the only miniature game I’ve played was Dave Schueler’s excellent DANG medieval naval game. I’ve squeezed in some board games, but pretty quiet on the miniatures front with the holidays and a big journalism fundraiser at school.

On the painting front, I didn’t produce as much as I would like since my last post, but I have worked steadily. I wrapped up all my 40mm figures for my role-playing project. I’ve also finished a few units for Lion Rampant.

Let’s just move on to Lion Rampant since it seems to be one game I’m pretty excited about. I have plenty of figures to play the game, but I did find myself short of a few figure types. I purchased some Perry pavisiers I’m in the middle of painting right now. I also bought some additional Perry pavises to outfit some Old Glory pavisiers whose shields I swiped for another project a few years ago. Those will give me a couple more units of foot sergeants, a troop type that is pretty ubiquitous. In addition I picked up enough Crusader Miniature crossbowmen for two units. These will balance out my HYW collection and should allow me to run most of the games I want.

These should allow me to host some pretty big games. I’ve already planned out a couple of sizable Lion Rampant games for Enfilade. The first is the Sack of Agen game I’ve already played once, and will run again at Drumbeat next weekend. It’s a 7-player game that gives everyone plenty to do. The second game is historically inspired and based on the 1340 raid on the Bolougne docks that deprived the French fleet of valuable ships and crews for the Battle of Sluys. The battle is the result of an English landing, mostly in the mist. The English are able to overwhelm the resistance in the dock area, and destroy the prime targets on the waterfront, but are mostly cut to pieces by reinforcements coming from the upper city. I have four 28mm medieval ships I’ll be able to use in the game. It will also require some additions to the rules, but I’ve already begun thinking through those.

I don’t intend to devote all of 2015 to painting more singly mounted HYW figures, although I’m sure I could. Remember those 28mm Irish Civil War figures I expressed an interest in? I really mean to work on those and try them out. Probably a summer project. I’m also interested in acquiring enough figures to adapt Lion Rampant to Aztecs vs. Spanish. That will take some time and money. I ordered a few of the excellent Eureka figures for this period and just love them. I’ve also typed up some ideas for troop types.

Last year I promised myself more games and gaming. Not quite sure I did that, but I feel Iike I made more of an effort. There was a gap during the summer-when I would normally play a lot-when I was out with my illness, but I usually played a time or two per month. I also was possessed by board gaming sickness, which has taken time as well. I hope to do even better in 2015

3 comments on “Good-bye 2014, hello 2015

  1. Greg says:

    I would be very interested in seeing what you have set up for your Mesoamericans…

    Happy New Year!

  2. tedhenkle says:

    Best wishes to you in 2015!

  3. dean says:

    Sorry I missed this post earlier, Kevin. I’m looking forward to seeing your Aztec project. I think LR could nicely be adapted to that period. I’d like to use it for my Warhammer Empire Guys too.

Leave a Reply

