Dean Motoyama is my hero

So I’ve blathered on a lot about my engagement with Lion Rampant.  I’m not the only one in my area who is partaking.  Others are doing their best to assemble units and retinues for the game.

I played a the big Agen scenario with a great group of guys ten or so days ago.  One of those is Dean Motoyama. Dean has his own blog, that you simply must check out. WAB Corner is where Dean share’s his latest creations.  The amazing thing about Dean is that he’s relatively new to the hobby. (like within the last decade.) Yet he’s taken on some great projects, from Warhammer Ancient Battles, to Sharpe Practice, and now on to Lion Rampant.  His projects are big and beautiful; he paints them quickly, and his miniatures are stunning.

I’ve painted over 500 figures for the Hundred Years war.  I don’t use shield transfers, and my figures can’t hold a candle to Dean’s work.  I am regularly in awe of whatever he’s produced today. Hugh Despenser. James Audley.  Just some great stuff. Check it out, it’s the real deal.

3 comments on “Dean Motoyama is my hero

  1. Dean says:

    Wow – Kevin, thanks for the accolades. I know HYW is one of, if not the, primary interests for you – both historically and translated to the hobby. I’m very humbled by your kind words. To be honest, I was hoping these recent figures met your approval. Aloha, Dean

  2. kgsmyth55 says:

    Dean, I’ve known a number of really talented painters, and none of them can hold a candle to you-plus you seem to be so fast. When you embrace a period, you’re all in for a while and I really appreciate that. These mounted figures you’ve painted are just really nice. Love the Audley figure too–He was the Prince of Wales closest friend. Keep it up sire–very nice work.

  3. Victor says:

    I second or third this. Dean is an amazing painter and great person.

Leave a Reply

