Skittles

Nothing major to report, but I have been doing some things that might be interesting.

War of 1812 update

Mark and I met on Saturday to do a brief walk through of our two War of 1812 scenarios.  Mark is running Sackett’s Harbor, the British attempt to destroy the crucial American naval base on Lake Ontario in 1814.  I pulled out my figures for my Bladensburg scenario.  Both games suffer from a similar problem. There are crucial choke points in attacker’s line of advance (in both cases British) that were quickly overcome before advancing to the most important phases of the battles.  Having run Bladensburg twice, and failed in the early stages of the battle, it was important to have a sense this was easily doable within the rules.

It seemed to play out easily in the Sacketts game.  It will require some will and interest on the part of the British at Bladensburg not to fight everything directly in front of them, and seek to maneuver instead.  Smart British players will save much time and manpower if they seek the vulnerable American flanks in the first and second line.  We also talked through some other ideas for Bladensburg.  There are revised rules for the Regimental FnF for militia that makes them much more vulnerable to mass panic. We tried to come up with some ways the British may have to struggle a bit. One suggestion was to require the British to roll for fatigue each turn, due to the long march and intense summer heat that historically laid out more British soldiers with heat stroke than actual battle casualties.  Simple ten sided die roll with a 0 causing fatigue and a loss of -1 on the maneuver chart. After turn six, a 9 or 0.  Mark and I also discussed a random events die roll to punish/benefit each side.  Not quite sure of the particulars, but I do have some ideas.

Still working on table dimensions.  Not sure whether to go eight feet wide and seven and a half feet deep, or vice versa.  It really does require the right amount of depth. I hope to set up the game, just a set up, not a play test soon.

Enfilade pre-registration up and running

We fired up the website for online registration of games and admission on February 12th.  For information on the convention, you can go the the NHMGS website.  If you’re interested in attending and wish to pre-register or host a game you can visit the Enfilade website.

I’m still making some final decisions but I believe I’ll be running three games:

Friday Night: Thunderboats!  I’d like to try to have the picklefork boats I bought at last year’s convention for this game, but I’m not sure I’ll be ready.  Am really going to try however.

Saturday Morning: Bladensburg.  If I can include the same tables from Friday night in my preparations I’ll set up Friday night.  It will take some time, so I think this time is the best option for me.

Sunday: The Burr Conspiracy-or something like that.  This will be a six player game loosely based on Aaron Burr’s plot to carve out an empire for himself in Texas in 1805-6, combining elements of role-play and combat.

The figure count

I’m trying to stick to my plan to paint about 400 figures this year.  This minute I’m at 56 figures, which is pretty good for this time in February.  I’m finishing up some command bases for my Louisiana project.  I’ve pulled out my half-finished 1/600 scale WWII ships for the Raid on St. Nazaire, and my hope is I can finish all eleven in the next few days.  After that I’d really like to tackle one more mounted unit for Louisiana, but I suppose I should really tackle the previously mentioned hydroplanes.  They’ll take some time to assemble and find appropriate 1970’s color schemes.

The really good news is that I haven’t purchased any new figures.  Not even the cool AWI plastics from the Perry Brothers, or the very spiff highlanders from Kings Mountain Miniatures.  Stop tempting me Doug, I won’t stay clean forever.

Purchases

No I haven’t bought any new figures in 2014, but it doesn’t mean I didn’t spend any money.  I took a look at Rich Hasenauer’s set-up for Bladensburg and concluded I need some awesome, but cheap, five rail fences.  So I took advantage of free shipping at Architects of War to pick up some Renendra five rail fences.  There are about 20″ per pack for $6.40.  I bought six packs, and they look good.  Haven’t started assembling yet, but that will happen soon.

My most recent purchase, however, is the new Osprey Campaign book on the Chesapeake Campaign in the War of 1812.  Normally I wouldn’t even mention it, but I took a chance and ordered the Kindle edition from Amazon.  I haven’t read the book from cover to cover, but I have poked through a couple areas of interest.  I have the Kindle app for my iPad which is much better than my old Kindle original edition.  I can easily see the color pages, and the maps are re-sizable.  From what I can tell, the book takes pains to recount some of the smaller actions which would be quite interesting as semi-skirmish games.  I’m not sure I entirely trust the Orders of Battle in the book–the Bladensburg strengths seem quite off. The cost for the Kindle edition was $10.16 versus $16.71 for the paperback from Amazon.  I’m not sure if I’ve decided whether the savings is worth it.  I do know I’ve maxed out the storage on my tablet, so I’m now faced with the same problem with my e-reader as I have with my bookcases–gonna have to send stuff some items to the cloud.

 

Leave a Reply

