A Break From the War of 1812

 

Lights at BladensburgI did it.  All the figures for Bladensburg are done.  I’m freeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

What does it mean?  Project done.  Really, that’s very cool.  I live for projects and when I finish one it’s very exciting because  I can move on to something else.  The real challenge is to stay focused on something long enough to finish it.  Since May, all I’ve painted is 28mm War of 1812.  I’ve completed three American units and four British units, totaling about 225 figures. It’s time to move on. I hoped to have these done by the end of October, and look it’s Halloween.

The 85th Regiment is 48 figures, twelve stands.  If I was to extend out the 24 half bases, it would be 36 inches wide.  These are Old Glory figures, traditional, metal 28's

The 85th Regiment is 48 figures, twelve stands. If I was to extend out the 24 half bases, it would be 36 inches wide. These are Old Glory figures, traditional, metal 28’s

I’m probably not going to be quite so disciplined moving forward.  I have some Hundred Years War figures I’m working on, as well as some 28mm Spanish for my War with Spain project.  I have a dozen French knights primed and about half finished.  They’ll contribute to the vanguard division at Poitiers.  I also have the remaining 25 or so figures remaining to paint for the Louisiana Regiment for the Spaniards, and I hope to be done with them in November.

This small unit of converged light infantry is composed of Victrix figures.  They were much easier to work with on the smaller bases.  They actually look kinda nice.

This small unit of converged light infantry is composed of Victrix figures. They were much easier to work with on the smaller bases. They actually look kinda nice.

My goal is to continue working on both these projects until Christmas break.  Sounds like a long time but November 1st is Friday.  Not such a long time.  Then I’ll have to go back to Bladensburg as I ready some terrain pieces and begin play testing.

November is going to be an important gaming month for me.  This weekend, November 2nd is our annual visit to the Museum of Flight.  We won’t be under the SR-71 this year due to a scheduling glitch.  We’re going to be in the Space Center, near the Space Shuttle simulator.  Should be fun.  I’ll be running air racing in the morning and then bombing the Tirpitz in the afternoon with Dave Schueler.

Two weeks later we’re at the Flying Heritage Center in Everett. We reached an agreement with that air museum to host at least one event in their unique space.  I’ll post pictures from both events as we work through them.

2 comments on “A Break From the War of 1812

  1. Greg says:

    Have fun with the gaming week-ends, Kevin. We can not make it (again) this year; maybe next time.

  2. Baconfat says:

    Quite an impressive looking bunch

Leave a Reply

