Dang, paintin’ these planes is harder than I remember

A look at the first group of five Tonys.  They're natural metal with red tails.  They'll also have white boxes for their red hinomorus on wings and fuselage

A look at the first group of five Tonys. They’re natural metal with red tails. They’ll also have white boxes for their red hinomorus on wings and fuselage

Well, I’m back on the painting trail. Last week was an exhausting melange of school related activities that kept me at work for 15 hours a day most of the week.  Thus I didn’t have the time or energy for much work.

On my painting table are five Avro Lancaster bombers and nine Kawasaki Ki-61 (Tony) fighters.   I probably have about 150 1/300 scale planes painted.  Lots are modern aircraft, but many are WWII planes as well.  I don’t remember them being quite so challenging as these guys seem to be.  Maybe I’m just getting old.

The Lancasters pose two major obstacles.  The first is that they’re just big.  With their five inch wingspan and similar fuselage length, there’s just a lot of coverage that has to happen.  The second and actually more challenging problem is their color scheme.  Though they have a fairly simple earth and green camouflage, the rest of the plane is simply painted black.  But that means a straight black line must be painted down the entire fuselage.  Straight. line. Along the way, one must avoid the wing and stabilizer and line things up properly for a straight . . . line. I don’t think I can even see straight at my age.

A not particularly clear side view of the Lancasters.  They do show the horizontal black line down the fuselage.

A not particularly clear side view of the Lancasters. They do show the horizontal black line down the fuselage.

This top Lancaster view shows the camouflage pattern for the five bombers.  Vallejo Bronze Green over Vallejo Dark Earth.

This top Lancaster view shows the camouflage pattern for the five bombers. Vallejo Bronze Green over Vallejo Dark Earth.

 

The Tony fighters are different.  They mostly appeared on the front lines in natural metal and were field-camouflaged.  Most have very carefully applied small green camouflage.  Others have the paint obviously smeared on to the plane with– I dunno palm fronds or something.  This poses a problem, because the camouflage is just plane difficult for a miniature so small.  I’m going to take four of them and do the best I can.  The other five will be Japanese home defense, capable of playing with Scott Abbott’s awesome fleet of B-29’s.  They’ll be part of the ramming squadron the Japanese air corps developed for dealing with LeMay’s bomber fleet.

These are little bitty planes.  The Lancasters are Scotia/Collectair, with some nice detail.  I’m hoping I can pull them off okay, but mostly I’m concerned with the straight lines. The Tonys are C in C with even more and finer detail. It just seems so much hard to do justice to than it used to be.

Leave a Reply

